Health Professionals at Banyule Community Health are poised to escalate industrial action next week in protest of what they are calling a crisis in community health.

The move follows more than twelve months of unsuccessful negotiations between management and staff.

“Community Health Centres are crucial to the delivery of primary and preventative health in Victoria. If those doing the work are not treated with respect and are not properly remunerated inline with their qualifications, level of expertise and experience, it will be the patients that suffer and the community more broadly,” said VHPA Secretary Craig McGregor.

Community Health Centres take up the slack from the besieged public hospital system by providing community-based physiotherapy, occupational therapy, speech pathology, podiatry and other services.

The latest management pay offer means that most podiatrists, physiotherapists, occupational therapists and speech pathologists would be paid almost $100 a week less than their dietitian colleagues.

Health Professionals at the centre have not had a pay rise in almost 4 years.

“Our members are committed to their clients and their communities but are woefully undervalued. It is time Dr Napthine took the sector seriously,” Concluded McGregor.

Action will follow at Isis Primary Care and at Co Health in the coming days.

Date: 11am Monday 8th September
Place: Banyule Community Health – 21 Alamein Road, West Heidelberg Victoria, 3081

For media inquiries, contact 1300 322 917.
See below for a full list of the Community Health Centres affected by pay claims:

Ballarat Community Health Centre — Cooinda, Sebastopol, Smythesdale
Banyule Community Health Service
Bass Coast Community Health Service
Bellarine Community Health
Bendigo Community Health Services – Eaglehawk, Kangaroo Flat
Bentleigh Bayside Community Health Services
Castlemaine District Community Health Centre (CHIRP)
Central Bayside Community Health Services
Cobaw Community Health Services –Woodend, Kyneton
CoHealth Community Health Service – Braybrook, Footscray, Kensington, Melton, Moonee Ponds, Niddrie, North Melbourne, Richmond, Sunbury
Darebin Community Health Service – Panch Health Service
Dianella Community Health – Broadmeadows, Craigieburn, Meadow Heights, East Reservoir, Northcote
Eastern Access Community Health (EACH) – Healesville, Lilydale, Ringwood Paterson St
Gateway Community Health (formerly Upper Hume Community Health Service)
Gippsland Lakes Community Health
Grampians Community Health Centre
Inner East Community Health Service – Ashburton, Richmond, Hawthorn, Sir Eric Pearce House
Inner South Community Health Service – Prahran, Mitford St St Kilda, Inkerman St St Kilda, Southport
Isis Primary Care – St Albans, Deer Park, Sunshine, Watergardens, Hobsons Bay, Wyndham
Knox Community Health Service
Latrobe Community Health Service – Bairnsdale, Churchill, Korumburra, Moe, Morwell, Sale, Traralgon, Warragul
Manningham Community Health Service
Merri Community Health Services – Brunswick, Coburg, Fawkner
Mitchell Community Health Service
MonashLink Community Health Service – Chadstone, Clayton, Hughesdale, Waverley
Nillumbik Community Health Service
North Yarra Community Health – Innerspace, Carlton, Collingwood, Fitzroy
Northern District Community Health Service
Nowa Nowa Community Health
Ovens and King Community Health Service
Plenty Valley Community Health Services
Primary Care Connect (formerly Goulburn Valley Community Health Service)
Ranges Community Health Service (INSPIRO)
Sunbury Community Health Centre
Whitehorse Community Health Service